Stay up-to-date!

The Hermitage Celebrates Andrew Jackson’s 252nd Birthday

CSB March Press Release Web

On Friday, March 15, 2019, Andrew Jackson’s The Hermitage celebrated Andrew Jackson’s 252nd birthday including a wreath-laying ceremony at Jackson’s tomb and a two-day War of 1812 military encampment of the grounds of the home of the nation’s 7th president. The wreath laying was led by Master of Ceremonies Bob McDonald, President & CEO of CedarStone Bank, who serves as Regent of The Andrew Jackson Foundation. McDonald remarked, 

“All the events were very educational, interesting and enjoyable. The wreath laying ceremony is always special as we remember Andrew Jackson and his contributions to our great nation and state.” 

Keynote speakers Maj. Gen. Jeffrey H. Holmes and Judge Andrew Jackson VI assisted with the wreath-laying ceremony at Jackson’s tomb. Jackson VI pointed out Andrew Jackson’s long list of credentials of being a lawyer, judge, working in the District Attorney’s office, being a congressman, senator, governor, general and finally the 7th President of the United States. Joking that he is a lawyer, has worked in the District Attorney’s office, and is now a sitting judge, Jackson VI has three of his late relative’s titles under his belt with only five left to go. McDonald quipped that we have faith he can accomplish the next five, but has a lot of work left to do. The events was an informative reminder of Andrew Jackson and his family’s great contributions to Tennessee and the United States.

Photo Credits (left to right): CedarStone Bank President & CEO Bob McDonald, Mrs. Susan McDonald, Maj. Gen. Jeffrey H. Holmes, Mrs. Rhonda Holmes, and Judge Andrew Jackson VI.

  211 Hits
211 Hits

21st Anniversary Wilson County Teacher Of The Year

CedarStone Bank Teacher of the Year Press Release WEB Wilson County Motors and CedarStone Bank are proud to announce the 21st Annual Wilson County Teacher of the Year program. Since 1998, these two companies have partnered to celebrate teachers and teaching. The program began its development in 1996 when W.P. Bone and Bob McDonald came up with the idea as a way to recognize one of the community’s most important and treasured assets – its teachers.  Bone and McDonald organized a focus group of individuals in the county representing leaders in business, government, civic and education, to assist in the process and criteria. After two years of planning and preparation, the program commenced and has been running for twenty-one consecutive years.

Each year, a teacher in each school in the county, public and private, is selected from his/her peers as its teacher of the year.  Those teachers complete a packet that details their experience, teaching philosophy and community involvement. Those packets are then delivered to Cumberland University where a panel of education faculty chooses one of the teachers as the Wilson County Teacher of the Year.  A banquet is then held where each teacher of the year and his/her guest, business, community leaders come together to pay tribute to the teachers.

The winner is announced at the completion of the keynote address by university president Dr. Paul Stumb. Each teacher is presented a plaque recognizing their accomplishment. And the overall winner is presented with a personal check in the amount of $1,500, and a check for their school in the amount of $500. This year’s banquet is scheduled for Friday, April 5, 2019.

“I understand the important role that teachers play in the lives of our young people and they make a lasting impact.  It is important that they are recognized and saluted for their commitment”, said W.P. Bone.  Bob McDonald continued, “teaching has always been a challenging profession, and it is more today than ever.  It is a real delight to see these teachers enjoy being applauded and honored on the night of the banquet.”

Those teachers who will be honored at the banquet on April 5 are:

Connie Canham - Byars-Dowdy Elementary School
Stephanie Porter - Carroll-Oakland Elementary School
Page Henley - Castle Heights Elementary School
Elysia Stover - Coles Ferry Elementary School
Angela Lewis - Elzie D. Patton Elementary School
Lisa Espenshade - Friendship Christian School
Laurie Guethlein - Gladeville Elementary School
Kari Ferrell - Lakeview Elementary School
Derek Southworth - Lebanon High School
Maranda Nave - MAP Academy
Bethany J. Davis - Mt. Juliet Christian Academy
Alexis Swierc - Mt. Juliet Elementary School
Enna Y. Vela - Mt. Juliet High School
Lauren Gribble - Mt Juliet Middle School
Nicole Williams - Rutland Elementary School
Alyson Atchley - Sam Houston Elementary School
Meredith Burke - Southside Elementary School
Brooke M. Carr - Springdale Elementary School
Rob Ruslavage - Stoner Creek Elementary School
Andi Kumpf - Tuckers Crossroads Elementary School
Julie Davenport - W.A. Wright Elementary School
Judy Metcalf - Walter J. Baird Middle School
Lauren Conatser - Watertown Elementary School
Shanna Leasure - Watertown High School
Shannon Queen - Watertown Middle School
Chelsea Sharpe - West Elementary School
Sherry Tiner - West Wilson Middle School
Richard R. Lewis - Wilson Central High School
April Kring - Winfree Bryant Middle School

Pictured are Bob McDonald, President & CEO of CedarStone Bank and W.P. Bone, Owner of Wilson County Motors.

  383 Hits
383 Hits

McGavock High School Recent Students of the Month

CedarStone Bank McGavock September 2018 SOTM OnlineCedarStone Bank McGavock November 2018 Student of the Month

Since 2006, CedarStone Bank and McGavock High School have teamed up to recognize students who meet and exceed their school responsibilities, and who distinguish themselves as good citizens and students in our community.

Recently CedarStone Bank presented Student of the Month honors to Hannah Richardson (pictured in left photo) and James Phillips (pictured in right photo).  

  347 Hits
347 Hits

McGavock High School Student of the Month: August 2018

CSB SOTM Oct 18 Online

Since 2006, CedarStone Bank and McGavock High School have teamed up to recognize students who meet and exceed their school responsibilities, and who distinguish themselves as good citizens and students in our community.

 Recently CedarStone Bank presented “Student of the Month for August 2018” honors to Fontesheia Lewis. The staff of the Donelson Office participated in the presentation.

 Seated left to right, first row is: Norene Hubbeling, Ashlynn Sheppard, Honoree Fontesheia Lewis, Willie McDonald and back row is, Robert McDonald and Mariciel Torrella.

  290 Hits
290 Hits

Tracy Brown: 2017-18 Wilson County Teacher of the Year

Tracy Brown 2017-18 Wilson County Teacher of the Year Tracy Brown 2017-18 Wilson County Teacher of the Year Pictured from left is Mrs. Susan McDonald, CedarStone Bank President & CEO Bob McDonald. ESL Teacher Tracy Brown & W.P. Bone, III of Wilson County

For 20 years now, CedarStone Bank has been proud to co-sponsor the Wilson County Teacher of the Year celebration and to support education in Wilson County. Tracy Brown, an English as a Second Language Teacher at Mt. Juliet Elementary School, was recognized alongside 31 of her colleagues for their excellence in teaching. Congratulations to everyone involved!


  743 Hits
743 Hits