First-time user? Click here

CedarStone Bank

Wilson County Teacher of the Year

Organizers of the annual Wilson County Teacher of the Year program have announced the nominees for the 2011 Wilson County Teacher of the Year. The winner will be honored at the 13th Annual Teacher of the Year banquet and ceremony on Friday, April 15, 2011 in Baird Chapel on the campus of Cumberland University.

The Teacher of the Year program began almost 14 years ago under the direction of W.P. Bone, III, owner of Wilson County Chevrolet-Buick, and Bob McDonald, President, CedarStone Bank.

"Education is the most important factor in the success of a community," said W.P. Bone III. "It is fitting that we recognize and congratulate those professionals to whom we entrust the futures of our children."

Each of the 28 schools in Wilson County nominates and elects its own "teacher of the year" from its faculty; nominees are chosen by their peers. Those twenty-eight teachers then complete self-evaluation packets, providing the information for the final judging. Past winners of the award meet with those nominees and go over the criteria processing materials, which have proven to be a great learning experience for all those involved. An anonymous panel of Cumberland University faculty members then selects the Wilson County Teacher of the Year.

Many people play an important role in making the program successful, including members of business and government, school principals, school administrators and the Chambers of Commerce from Lebanon, Mt. Juliet and Watertown. Community leaders throughout the area are on hand during the awards banquet to show their support and gratitude.

"We are very proud of this program as it recognizes educators in our community that go above and beyond their call of duty,” commented Bob McDonald, "and we at CedarStone Bank are proud to be a part of it. It is wonderful to see our teachers be acknowledged and rewarded for the fine job they do."

The winner will receive a $1,500 cash prize and their school will net another $500 for their efforts. Listed below are the 28 nominees for the 2011 – Wilson County Teacher of the Year.

Amanda Smith Byars-Dowdy Elementary School
Lori Maasen Carroll-Oakland Elementary School
Debbie Vaughn Castle Heights Upper Elementary School
Mary Elmore Coles Ferry Elementary School
Megan Hamilton Elzie D. Patton Elementary School
Greg Armstrong Friendship Christian School
Kris Davis Gladeville Elementary School
Tracy Maness Lakeview Elementary School
Mary Ashby Lebanon High School
Shaun Caven MAP Academy
Donna C. Macon McClain Christian Academy
Dana Spence Mt. Juliet Christian Academy
Suzanne McPeak Mt. Juliet Elementary School
Lori Scott Mt. Juliet High School
Jim Speck Mt. Juliet Middle School
Carie Laster Rutland Elementary School
Andrea Lea Sam Houston Elementary School
Jane LaFevers Southside Elementary School
Jessica Moses Stoner Creek Elementary School
Ramona Wright Tuckers Crossroads Elementary School
Laurie Drummond W.A. Wright Elementary School
Carol Ann Smith Walter J. Baird Middle School
Vickie See Watertown Elementary School
Brandy Faye Baird Watertown High School
Cindy Reavis West Elementary School
Malinda Hirschmann West Wilson Middle School
Terry Campbell Wilson Central High School
Lindsay McQuirt Wilson County Vocational Center