First-time user? Click here

CedarStone Bank

The 2011 Wilson County Teacher of the Year was announced on Friday

The 2011 Wilson County Teacher of the Year was announced on Friday, April 15 during an awards celebration held at Cumberland University in Lebanon. 

2011 Wilson County Teacher of The Year - CedarStone Bank

Kim Vann, a seven year veteran of the Lebanon Special School District, was selected as this year’s honoree.
Vann, a special needs teacher at Castle Heights Upper Elementary, received a $1,500 check for her efforts and her school also received a $500 donation.

CedarStone Bank and Wilson County Motors are sponsors of the 14 year old event that recognizes educators from across Wilson County.

Each of the 28 schools in Wilson County nominates and elects its own "teacher of the year" from its faculty; nominees are chosen by their peers. Those twenty-eight teachers then complete self-evaluation packets, providing the information for the final judging. An anonymous panel of Cumberland University faculty members then selects the Wilson County Teacher of the Year.

Many people play an important role in making the program successful, including members of business and government, school principals, school administrators and the Chambers of Commerce from Lebanon, Mt. Juliet and Watertown. Community leaders throughout the area are on hand during the awards banquet to show their support and gratitude.

"We are very proud of this program as it recognizes educators in our community that go above and beyond their call of duty,” commented Bob McDonald, "and we at CedarStone Bank are proud to be a part of it. It is wonderful to see our teachers be acknowledged and rewarded for the fine job they do."

The event is held annually in Baird Chapel on the campus of Cumberland University. Dr. Harvel Eaton, President of Cumberland, presented the award to Vann.